Education Council

Education Council Meeting 

Tuesday, August 11th at 6 o'clock

High School Cafeteria

(Covid-19 Protocols of Social Distancing & Face mask-wearing will be followed)

Download Ed Council Meeting Agenda


(Social Distancing and Mask Wearing Guidelines will be in Effect-

6 feet between Individuals as well as masks being worn while traveling in and out

of the building as well as moving throughout. Masks can be removed during 

the meeting as long as individuals are 6 feet apart and remain seated.)

Thank You in Advance for Your Compliance!


Meeting Minutes & Agendas

March - Minutes / Agenda

April - Minutes /Agenda

May - Minutes / Agenda

June 2nd - Minutes / Agenda

June 23 - Minutes / Agenda

September 1 - Minutes / Agenda 


What is the IHC Education Council, and what does it do?

The Immaculate Heart Central Schools Education Council is a Council of limited jurisdiction and is a joint venture of the Watertown parishes of St. Anthony’s Church, Church of the Holy Family, St. Patrick’s Church and Our Lady of the Sacred Heart Church. The Council develops policies that govern the operation of the IHC School System, as well as formulate policy for the planning, finances, advancement, public relations, and supervision of all administrative activities, subject to the policies of the Diocese of Ogdensburg, the New York Board of Regents, and the Commissioner of Education of the State of New York, as well as subject to Canon Law of the Catholic Church.

Mission Statement

Immaculate Heart Central School is a faith-based community whose mission it is, to provide a quality Catholic and secular education, to cultivate holiness based on the love and imitation of Christ and to form responsible citizens whose Christian Values will transform the world.


October 2018 - Updated

May I attend the Council meetings, and/or address the Council?

Yes. All Council meetings are open to the IHC community.

  • If the Council goes into “Executive Session” (for example, to discuss salaries or personnel issues), non-members will be asked to leave the room to allow for private deliberations.
  • The beginning of each Council meeting includes a period for public comment. Individuals who would like to address the Council are encouraged to notify the Council President in advance. The Council listens to concerns raised in the public comment period, but does not respond or comment at that time. The President will establish the timeframe to ensure all comments are heard.

Who can serve on the Council?

The Council includes the pastors of the Watertown parishes, a pastor of an outlying parish within the Jefferson Deanery, and a Sister of Saint Joseph.

  • The Council also includes eleven lay members (two from each Watertown parish, one from an outlying parish, and two from the Fort Drum community).
  • Four of the lay members are appointed by the Watertown Pastors (one from each of the four Watertown Parishes)
  • The other seven are “at large” seats elected by the Education Council from a slate proposed by the Nominating Committee.
  • Council members must have a genuine interest in Catholic education, recognized expertise in areas related to the Council’s purpose, including but not limited to finance, buildings and grounds, law, education, human resources, information technology, non-profit leadership, and advancement. Council members must also be willing to commit a substantial amount of time to attend Council meetings, serve on committees, and support and attend related Council activities.
  • Council members (other than the non-voting Administrators) may not be paid employees of the Immaculate Heart Central School System nor immediate family members of employees.
  • The IHC Education Council follows the Code of Ethics for Catholic Board of Education Members, published by the National Catholic Educational Association.

How do I serve on the Council?

If you are interested in serving, you should contact your Pastor, the Chair of the Nominating Committee, or any member of the Council. Every year in May, two to three seats of the Council are open for election or re-election. Terms are for three years, renewable once, and run from July 1 to June 30. Vacancies will be announced on the IHC website and by other means. The Council’s Nominating Committee prepares a slate of interested candidates for voting by the full Council.

How do I serve on a Committee of the Council?

To serve on a Committee, contact the Committee Chairs listed below. All those who support IHC’s mission may be selected to serve on Committees of the IHC Education Council. The Committee Chair has primary responsibility to recruit Committee members.

The current committees are:

  • Finance
  • Advancement
  • Buildings and Grounds
  • Evaluation

Committee Chairs and current members of the Committees will vote on prospective members. There is no set number of seats on each Committee; rather, the Committee determines a size necessary for informed consideration of the issues and which incorporates the necessary expertise and school community perspectives.

Education Council Members(as of September 25, 2019)

Reverend Monsignor Robert H. Aucoin
School President

Mary O’Brien
At-Large Representative - Education Council Chair

Fr. Chris Looby
Pastor of St. Anthony’ and St. Patrick’s Parishes - Education Council Vice-Chair and School Pastor, Catholic Culture

Fr. Jonas Tandayu
Pastor of Sacred Heart Parish - Catholic Culture

Fr. Mickey Demo
Pastor of Holy Family Parish - Building and Grounds Committee

Fr. Jazmines
Pastor of Black River/Evans Mills Parishes

Sr. Annunciata
Sisters of St. Joseph Representative, Evaluation Committee

Maryanne Vespa
St. Anthony’s Parish Representative
Education Council Secretary, Evaluation Committee

Jodi Delaney
Community Representative, Advancement Committee, Academics

John Kamide
At-Large Representative - Advancement Committee

Kathy Granger
Outside Parishes Representative - Finance Committee Chair

Ernie Reape
Sacred Heart Parish Representative - Building and Grounds Chair

Anthony Burgess
Holy Family Parish Representative - Advancement Committee Chair

Julian Alteri
At-Large Representative - Finance Committee

Non-Voting Members

Daniel Charlebois - School Principal (K-12)

John Montondo - Vice Principal & Dean of Students (Grades 7-12)

Amy Mitchell - Vice Principal (PreK-6)